The Political Institutions of the United States

Professional Essay Writers

The Political Institutions of the United States

Organizations that apply, enforce, and create laws are known as political institutions. Conflicts are often mediated by them especially with respect to governmental policies on the social systems and economy. Examples of such political institutions involve the legal courts, the trade unions, and the political parties. In the United States, the political institutions mostly cover the division of powers between the states and the federal government, and the separation of powers between the judicial, legislative, and executive branches of government.

The executive branch involves cabinet, vice president, and president. The electoral college is mainly the appointer of the executive branch. The United States mainly is a federal public in which powers reserved to the national government as per the Constitutions are shared by the federal courts, Congress, and President. The sovereignty is also shared between the state governments and the federal government.

In every 4 years, the president is elected as the head of government and state. The president is responsible for taking care of the laws that can be executed faithfully. In addition, he/she must also defend, protect, and preserve the Constitutions. The president also has the power to preside over the executive brand of the federal government. Whereas, the vice president is the one that becomes president upon the removal, resignation, or death of the president. He/she eventually is the presence of the Senate. Whereas, the cabinet involves fifteen executive departments such as education, defense, and agriculture.

Similarly, the legislative involve the senate and house of representatives. The house of representative has a tenure of 2 years and around 700,000 individuals are represented by 1 representative. In addition, it has around 435 members, whereas, the number of seats completely depends upon the count and the size of the residents of the state. The key functions of the house of representatives are to supervise the executive, commissions are formed by experts to consider laws, and legislative initiatives. Whereas, the Senate has a tenure of 6 years and has two delegates from each state. The key functions of the Senate involve legal initiative, impeachments, ratifications of global contracts, advice to the president about the staff including the ambassadors and the judges, and discussions over bills including alterations and passages. The political institutions of the United States also include local government and state. The state eventually has the power to articulate laws that are not denied by the Constitution of the United States and are granted to the federal government.

See Also